The Egmont Reading for Pleasure Teacher Awards 2019

Announcing the 2019 Egmont Awards

**Deadline has now been extended to midnight on Sunday, 27th January**

Through the awards, Egmont Publishing in partnership with The Open University and UK Literacy Association, aim to recognise teachers and schools whose practices make a real difference to children’s RfP.

After a highly successful launch last year, there will again be three award categories: Early Career teacher, Experienced teacher, and a Whole School award. The winner of each category will receive Egmont books to the value of £250 for their school, and there are 20 copies of Help Your Child Love Reading by Alison David to be won.  

Last year’s winners and runners-up exemplified research-informed pedagogy and practice that ensured children had environments, time, resources and support to read for pleasure. Have a look at their case studies here -

Jon Biddle - Moorlands Primary Academy - Winner of Experienced teacher category -,

Emily Crumbleholme - Peover Superior - Winner of Early Career teacher category -

Sonia Thompson & Paulette Osborn - St Matthews CofE - Whole School award -,

This year’s judges are:

Joy Court, Chair: CILIP Carnegie & Kate Greenaway Medals Reviews

Teresa Cremin, Professor of Education, The Open University

Alison David, Consumer Insight Director, Egmont Publishing

Andy Stanton, children’s author  

Fiona Evans, Head of Schools Programmes, NLT

Cally Poplak, Managing Director, Egmont Publishing

David Reedy, UK Literacy Association

The deadline for entries is Monday 21st January, and the winners will be announced on 16th March at the OU/UKLA Reading for Pleasure Conference in London. Download the leaflet for information on how to enter.  **PLEASE NOTE - Deadline has now been extended to midnight on Sunday, 27th January.**

< Back to news & events